No WiFi interface

No WiFi connection with Dell 9350 laptop. Error message “ No WiFi interface is configured in /etc/rc.conf.

Please provide the output of the command pciconf -lv | grep -B3 network .

BSD doesn’t have very good Wifi support, this isn’t a rant but reality. Your best bet is, if you look through approps for wifi drivers and buy one at amazon normally intel, and atheros are good but they don’t sell dongles just integrated, and this causes some issues with PCIID blocking, meaning some companies will block your pcim wifi. But even those tend to lack I have a 9565 Intel which isn’t supported. I have a backup I use when this happens.

1 Like

Sorry to barge in but I have the same problem.
Can you help me? I’m new to BSD and I don’t know Linux either so please be gentle.
The output is as follows:

bfe0@pci0:3:0:0: class=0x020000 card=0x01891028 chip=0x170c14e4 rev=0x02 hdr=0x00
vendor = ‘Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries’
device = ‘BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX’
class = network

iwi0@pci0:3:3:0: class=0x028000 card=0x10208086 chip=0x42238086 rev=0x05 hdr=0x00
vendor = ‘Intel Corporation’
device = ‘PRO/Wireless 2915ABG [Calexico2] Network Connection’
class = network

I also have a USB adaptor with Atheros 9271 chip, why it doesn’t show?

In place of wlan0 you can use usb tethering… its works on nomadbsd.

usb tethering is done via RNDIS protocol which by default is supported by FreeBSD. So As I have tried to enable that same protocol on NomadBSD! to my surprise it’s worked.

–Command…
Before doing this disconnect the mobile from PC
First check if kernel rndis driver is loaded or not…

kldstat | grep uf_urndis

it should produce something like this…
21 1 0xffffffff82929000 2760 if_urndis.ko

If not shown then use this command…

kldload if_urndis

then check again by using the previous command.
It will show the upper mentioned result

Connect your mobile, enable usb tethering.
use this command to check if any device is connected or not

dmesg | grep -i USB