Worked on my Desktop

Hi there, I am new to this nomad community. Recently found this new FreeBSD distribution on the internet and though being a linux person wanted to try some FreeBSD distribution for long. Used PC-BSD but it was not upto that mark of being a normal desktop os.
Thanks to Nomad Teams for making this nice FreeBSD distros. Posted my system info here which was saved from nomad modified sysinfo command, nomad-sysinfo.

Output of the system info can be found here…

3 Likes

I have successfully enabled a usb tethered device on NomadBSD… Following are the process described.

usb tethering is done via RNDIS protocol which by default is supported by FreeBSD. So As I have tried to enable that same protocol on NomadBSD! to my surprise it’s worked.

–Command…
Before doing this disconnect the mobile from PC
First check if kernel rndis driver is loaded or not…

kldstat | grep uf_urndis

it should produce something like this…
21 1 0xffffffff82929000 2760 if_urndis.ko

If not shown then use this command…

kldload if_urndis

then check again by using the previous command.
It will show the upper mentioned result

Connect your mobile, enable usb tethering.
use this command to check if any device is connected or not

dmesg | grep -i USB

You will can see your mobile device name, either by chipset name or device manufacturer name
From here if everything ok, type below command…

ifconfig

You will be able to see a list of ethernet devices enabled on your pc, out of which
em0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500

options=209b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,WOL_MAGIC>

ether 50:65:f3:1f:7b:3c

hwaddr 50:65:f3:1f:7b:3c

inet 192.168.1.126 netmask 0xffffffff broadcast 192.168.1.126

nd6 options=29<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>

media: Ethernet autoselect

lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384

options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>

inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128