Simple DNS over TLS (DoT) or DNS over HTTPS (DoH) solution for desktop?

This issue came up in connection with my post on setting up a simple OpenVPN solution. The DoH service I had been using (Mullvad) stopped working for some reason, which prompts me to ask the question if there is a simple DoT or DoH solution that can be implemented for NomadBSD desktop users, to provide added security to a VPN. The idea, would be to encrypt DNS traffic for added security. I am completely new to FreeBSD and to security issues of this kind in general, so I would appreciate any feedback on how something like this can be implemented, and how difficult it is.

From what I understand, Unbound is the simplest solution for DNS over TLS, and the least resource demanding for a desktop system. Unfortunately, I haven’t had much luck so far. Here is what I have done (or attempted to do mainly using this tutorial):
(make sure that ntpd is installed and running for correct time before adding)
# sysrc local_unbound_enable=YES (local_unbound_enable is tailored to be used as a local resolver)

# pkg install bind-tools

Modify the configuration file /etc/unbound/unbound.conf as follows:

server:
    port: 5300
    tls-upstream: yes                                          
    tls-cert-bundle: "/usr/local/share/certs/ca-root-nss.crt"

forward-zone:
    name: "."
    forward-addr: 2a05:fc84::42@853#dns.digitale-gesellschaft.ch

Then reboot or:

# service local_unbound start

Test with:
# dig @::1 -p 5300 mozilla.org

Make a DNS request:
# dig @::1 -p 5300 mozilla.org
AND
# tcpdump host 2a05:fc84::42 -w tls.pcap (command will capture the traffic)

Make sure that the key-file is part of your unbound-configuration:
$ cat /etc/unbound/root.key (exists)

Update the keys:
# -u unbound unbound-anchor (-u: Command not found. No man files for unbound.)

Restart unbound:

Test DNSSEC validation:
# dig @::1 -p 5300 mozilla.org +dnssec