Installing Nomad to hard disk - boots to command line login and that's it

Hello

I created a Nomad USB, booted up just fine UEFI, looks great. Used NomadBSD installer to install to my hard drive since I want to use Nomad full time. Shutdown, removed USB, started back up, Nomad kernel goes through the motions and arrives at CLI login. I enter the username and password for the user i created. DE doesn’t start automatically so I knew something wasn’t right. I assumed that I could just install to hard disk and use Nomad as usual sans USB.

Could someone help me out? I am new to BSD and learning more and more each day. I did not expect to have to re configure everything in command line but that seems what I will have to do which is a bummer since Nomad is already set up perfectly for my liking.

Thank you soooo much for any help you can provide. Can i expect Nomad to function installed to hard drive or should I just stick to USB? Thank you!

Chris

irc: unclechris3

Hi @crldb,

is your system using an NVIDIA graphics card? If so, see the Errata. Look for HDD/SSD installed NomadBSD doesn’t start the GUI on systems which require nvidia-driver > 390

Hey MK

For the python upgrade, how do I do this?

Change the shebang of dsbxinput and nomadbsd-chusr:

sed -i ‘’ ‘s/python3.7/python3.8/’ /usr/local/bin/dsbxinput

sed -i ‘’ ‘s/python3.7/python3.8/’ /usr/local/bin/lbi-gui

sed -i ‘’ ‘s/python3.7/python3.8/’ /usr/bin/nomadbsd-chusr

sed -i ‘’ ‘s/python3.7/python3.8/’ /usr/local/bin/ipfwGUI

Do I literally just type these lines into command line? That’s what I figured but just making sure. Thank you for helping get this amazing system working well!

Yes (except for the # which just indicates a root prompt).

Hello guys.

I got the same problem Chris described above but with my NomadBSD USB flash drive I created a few days ago. When I boot into my NomadBSD NVMe SSD install on my Laptop