Green around the gills

Hello … I’m am quite new at NomadBSD (total novice) and have it up and running pretty well on a Lenovo G50-80 laptop (with no HDD, no less) but I do have a question. I downloaded the latest version onto a Sandisk 16GB USB 3.0 stick. I can boot from it in either of the laptops 2.0 sockets but not in the one 3.0 socket it has. The 3.0 socket works fine for a USB mouse as well as an external optical drive. Any ideas on the reason for this ? I’d really like to boot in that 3.0 socket to see if it would speed things up a bit.

Hello! I am a novice too with NomadBSD, but what I would suggest is that you try a different Linux distro on the same USB port. I somehow doubt that it is a NomadBSD specific problem, more likely a hardware problem, but at least you could find out.

Thank you, rayburn. Looks like there aren’t many ideas on here on my problem. The strangest thing of all is that the same version on a USB 2.0 stick will boot fine in that same socket.

It is strange then and probably a quirk of that particular USB stick. Have you any other USB 3.0 sticks to try? I have around six of them here as I am always experimenting with new distros!

It does indeed seem to be a hardware problem. I tried another USB 3.0 stick and it wasn’t recognized in the 3.0 socket either … but worked fine in the 2.0 ones.

afaik BIOS often do not have USB3 drivers. If the USB3 ports do not work in the running OS either I’d start troubleshooting there and get the needed drivers if that doesn’t work I’d consider it a hardware issue.
I do not know how to install drivers to a BIOS.

Thanks for the responses. That’s pretty much the conclusion I had come to h474rd.

Sometimes usb sticks have problems with certain machines and sockets.
Sandisk is known for making problems and some Linux derivates advice not to use a Sandisk stick.
I avoid such Sandisk sticks and only buy high quality stick from well known vendors. Don’t use the very cheap ones from a dump bin.